Monday, 24 September 2018

Latest News

POST Program Helps Caregivers With End of Life Decisions

Somewhere between Advanced Directives, Durable Do Not Resuscitate and a patient’s wishes is a gray area about end-of-life patient care. A program begun on the west coast helps caregivers identify and honor those end-of-life wishes. That program, with its Virginia roots in the Roanoke area, is called POST or Physician Orders for Scope of Treatment. The program was piloted by Sentara in part of the Tidewater EMS region during 2011 and 2012, and will roll out regionwide, as well as in several other parts of Virginia, starting October 1, 2012.

Read more: POST Program Helps Caregivers With End of Life Decisions

Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan Effective April 1

Update: Effective June 1, 2011 the Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan was revised to delete references to the "Acute Stroke ED". All acute stroke patients should be transported to the closest Designated Stroke Center unless otherwise directed by medical control.

The Tidewater EMS Council's Prehospital and Interhospital Stroke Triage Plan was approved in December by the regional Operational Medical Directors with an implementation date of April 1, 2011. The stroke triage plan is is available for download and has been distributed to EMS agencies and hospitals throughout the region. [The plan is temporarily available for download. Questions: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ]

Read more: Tidewater Stroke Triage Plan Effective April 1

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 02 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Oct 11 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Stroke PI Meeting
Thu Oct 11 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
CISM Team Meeting & Annual Awards
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Office Closed - Veterans’ Day
Mon Nov 12 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/26/2018
Wed Sep 26 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support
Sun Sep 30 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 02 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course
Sun Oct 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Virginia Symposium
Wed Nov 07 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Thu Nov 08 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Fri Nov 09 @12:00AM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com