Monday, 24 September 2018

Latest News

EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan, Pursuant to Item 471.10 of HB 5010 was released to the public on October 15. The Virginia Department of Health's budget reduction includes the following language within the Governor's Plan:
 
Capture balance from the Emergency Medical Services Fund. This strategy transfers balances in the Special Emergency Medical Services Fund to the General Fund. The loss of this revenue is not expected to have a direct impact on agency services or operations. This amount is $4,000,000.
 
The $4,000,000 capture of EMS funds identified in Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan does not impact the $4.25 that currently supports EMS services and operations in Virginia.

Read more: EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Tidewater EMS Protocol Smart Phone/Tablet Apps Available

iOS protocol appThe Tidewater EMS Council is very pleased to announce the release of its first smart phone application. The app includes the latest TEMS Medical Protocols and related tools. The Android version will be updated in the near future to include the same functions that are now found in the iOS version. Plans for additional features are in the works and will be available through version updates.Submit suggestions for improvements to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
 p 2zE4EH get-it-on-google-play-store-logo
 

Three Tidewater Agencies Receive AHA Mission: Lifeline EMS Awards

Chesapeake Fire Department, Norfolk Fire-Rescue, and Portsmouth Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services have received the American Heart Association's Mission: Lifeline® EMS Bronze Award recognizing their commitment and success in implementing specific quality improvement measures for the treatment of patients who suffer a severe heart attack known as a STEMI (ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction). These three agencies represent 3 of only 10 EMS awards given statewide.

Read more: Three Tidewater Agencies Receive AHA Mission: Lifeline EMS Awards

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 02 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Oct 11 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Stroke PI Meeting
Thu Oct 11 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
CISM Team Meeting & Annual Awards
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Office Closed - Veterans’ Day
Mon Nov 12 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/26/2018
Wed Sep 26 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support
Sun Sep 30 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 02 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course
Sun Oct 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Virginia Symposium
Wed Nov 07 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Thu Nov 08 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Fri Nov 09 @12:00AM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com