Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Latest News

Portsmouth's Amy Ward Receives Governor's EMS Award

Amy Ward photoAmy L. Ward, a career paramedic with Portsmouth Fire, EMS and Emergency Services was awarded the 2014 Governor’s EMS Award for Outstanding Prehospital Provider.  For more than 18 years, Amy Ward has provided outstanding and dedicated service to the system through her involvement in all facets of EMS at the local and regional level. Ward has worked tirelessly to improve EMS services in her agency, Portsmouth Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services, as well as in the Tidewater region.

Read more: Portsmouth's Amy Ward Receives Governor's EMS Award

EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan, Pursuant to Item 471.10 of HB 5010 was released to the public on October 15. The Virginia Department of Health's budget reduction includes the following language within the Governor's Plan:
 
Capture balance from the Emergency Medical Services Fund. This strategy transfers balances in the Special Emergency Medical Services Fund to the General Fund. The loss of this revenue is not expected to have a direct impact on agency services or operations. This amount is $4,000,000.
 
The $4,000,000 capture of EMS funds identified in Governor McAuliffe's FY 2015 Savings Plan does not impact the $4.25 that currently supports EMS services and operations in Virginia.

Read more: EMS Clarification of Governors Savings Plan

Tidewater EMS Protocol Smart Phone/Tablet Apps Available

iOS protocol appThe Tidewater EMS Council is very pleased to announce the release of its first smart phone application. The app includes the latest TEMS Medical Protocols and related tools. The Android version will be updated in the near future to include the same functions that are now found in the iOS version. Plans for additional features are in the works and will be available through version updates.Submit suggestions for improvements to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..
 p 2zE4EH get-it-on-google-play-store-logo
 

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Fri Nov 23 @12:00AM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Thu Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Dec 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 24 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas
Tue Dec 25 @12:00AM
Office Closed - New Year's Day
Tue Jan 01 @12:00AM
Office Closed - King Day
Mon Jan 21 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Nov 27 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS) Hybrid
Sat Dec 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 01/23/19
Wed Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 03/30/19
Sat Mar 30 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com