Saturday, 24 August 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

EMS can impact human trafficking

Human TraffickingThere are nearly 30 million victims of forced labor and human trafficking in a $150 billion industry globally. Unfortunately, the Hampton Roads region isn’t exempt from this activity. The Chesapeake Fire Department has focused on the issue of human trafficking. Their goals, and perhaps the goals that your EMS agency and fire department might set as well, are:
• To be cognizant of the subversive culture of sex and labor slavery and its existence in Hampton Roads
• To be mindful that this culture involves extremely dangerous criminals and horrendously victimized human beings
• To act as an organization in a manner that denies safe harbor for sex and labor criminal systems.

Read more: EMS can impact human trafficking

Board fills key vacancies

Boardroom chairs

The Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors elected several new directors and filled key vacancies during its quarterly meeting on December 8, 2016. Wayne E. Shank was elected treasurer, W. Travis Kirby and Dennis J. Keane were elected to the board, and Janice E. McKay and Jeffrey J. Meyer were elected to the executive committee.

Read more: Board fills key vacancies

Rotary honors Portsmouth firefighters

Portsmouth Rotary Awards 1 13 17On Thursday, January 13, 2017 the Rotary Club of Portsmouth held their 16th Annual Portsmouth Public Safety Personnel Awards luncheon. Two of this year’s honorees are Master Firefighter/Paramedic Emil Majetich and Firefighter/Advanced EMT Reginald Bolton. Both were recognized for their outstanding performance of duties and dedication to the citizens of the City of Portsmouth.

Read more: Rotary honors Portsmouth firefighters

Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia

Governor Terry McAuliffe today (11/21/2016) announced that State Health Commissioner Marissa J. Levine, MD, MPH, FAAFP, has declared the Virginia opioid addiction crisis a Public Health Emergency.

This declaration comes in response to the growing number of overdoses attributed to opioid use, and evidence that Carfentanil, a highly dangerous synthetic opioid used to sedate large animals such as elephants, has made its way its way into Virginia. A Public Health Emergency is an event, either natural or manmade, that creates a health risk to the public.

Read more: Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Sep 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Sep 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Sep 12 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Sep 12 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 18 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 18 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Commercial EMS Agencies Committee
Thu Sep 19 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Oct 10 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course
Sun Aug 25 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 28 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 29 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Pre-Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS)
Fri Sep 06 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Test at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Sep 25 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 30 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Oct 31 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Nov 20 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Mon Dec 09 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Tue Dec 10 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com