Thursday, 26 April 2018

Latest News

Three Tidewater Agencies Receive AHA Mission: Lifeline EMS Awards

Chesapeake Fire Department, Norfolk Fire-Rescue, and Portsmouth Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services have received the American Heart Association's Mission: Lifeline® EMS Bronze Award recognizing their commitment and success in implementing specific quality improvement measures for the treatment of patients who suffer a severe heart attack known as a STEMI (ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction). These three agencies represent 3 of only 10 EMS awards given statewide.

Read more: Three Tidewater Agencies Receive AHA Mission: Lifeline EMS Awards

TEMS Launches Smart Phone App

The Tidewater EMS Council is very pleased to announce the release of its first smart phone application.  The app includes the latest TEMS Medical Protocols and related tools. This first release is for the Android Phones with iOS (Apple) coming very soon. Plans for additional features are in the works and will be available through version updates. Submit suggestions for improvements to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

GooglePlay R0412

 

TEMS Celebrates 40th Anniversary

TEMS 40th anniversary logoStarting November 7, 2013 and continuing for next 12 months, the Tidewater EMS Council celebrates its 40th anniversary.  Each of the next five Response newsletters will feature a decade of local and regional EMS as well as some other historical notes or trends over the years. We also added a history section on this website which archives the historical articles included in the Response newsletter and more. See the "TEMS History" link on the left menu in the "About Tidewater EMS" section. Coming soon on this website will be a photo album and we welcome photo contributions. Happy anniversary, everyone!
 

CHKD to delay trauma patient acceptance

The Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters in Norfolk is working to obtain pediatric trauma center status in expectation of being able to receive and manage severely injured pediatric patients. The preparation has been underway for over a year but several barriers have delayed formal trauma center designation. Planning and preparation continues but an original January 1, 2014 implementation date has been postponed. "Our current trauma triage plan has not changed," says trauma program director Ann Kuhn, MD, "and when we are ready to receive trauma via our EMS partners we will work through the TEMS structure to ensure an organized changeover."
 

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue May 01 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Jun 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
2018 Regional Awards Presentation - Register below
Thu Jun 14 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue May 01 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
ACLS Update
Fri May 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:00PM
Geriatric Education for the EMS Provider (GEMS)
Sat May 05 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
PALS UPDATE
Mon May 07 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
ACLS Update
Tue May 08 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Basic Life Support
Wed May 09 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 05/12/2018
Sat May 12 @ 9:00AM -
Basic Life Support
Tue May 15 @ 9:30AM - 01:30PM
ACLS Provider Course (2 Day)
Wed May 16 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
ACLS Provider Course (2 Day)
Thu May 17 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com