Wednesday, 13 November 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

Heart attackDuring the past several years the Tidewater EMS region and many places across the nation have worked to improve the outcome of patients experiencing ST-elevation myocardial infarction, or STEMI. Hospitals and emergency medical systems are organizing coordinated regional plans for STEMI diagnosis and rapid reperfusion. The work is being done through heart attack coalitions, and in our region the Eastern Virginia Heart Attack Coalition has achieved amazing success.

Read more: STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

EMS can impact human trafficking

Human TraffickingThere are nearly 30 million victims of forced labor and human trafficking in a $150 billion industry globally. Unfortunately, the Hampton Roads region isn’t exempt from this activity. The Chesapeake Fire Department has focused on the issue of human trafficking. Their goals, and perhaps the goals that your EMS agency and fire department might set as well, are:
• To be cognizant of the subversive culture of sex and labor slavery and its existence in Hampton Roads
• To be mindful that this culture involves extremely dangerous criminals and horrendously victimized human beings
• To act as an organization in a manner that denies safe harbor for sex and labor criminal systems.

Read more: EMS can impact human trafficking

Upcoming Events

Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Nov 14 @ 2:30AM - 03:30PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Nov 14 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Nov 20 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
Commercial EMS Agencies Committee
Thu Nov 21 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 28 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Fri Nov 29 @12:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Dec 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Dec 12 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Stroke PI Meeting
Thu Dec 12 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM

Upcoming Classes

Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sat Nov 16 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care
Sun Nov 17 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Nov 20 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 04 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 05 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Jan 22 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Mar 18 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com