Friday, 17 August 2018

Latest News

STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

Heart attackDuring the past several years the Tidewater EMS region and many places across the nation have worked to improve the outcome of patients experiencing ST-elevation myocardial infarction, or STEMI. Hospitals and emergency medical systems are organizing coordinated regional plans for STEMI diagnosis and rapid reperfusion. The work is being done through heart attack coalitions, and in our region the Eastern Virginia Heart Attack Coalition has achieved amazing success.

Read more: STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

EMS can impact human trafficking

Human TraffickingThere are nearly 30 million victims of forced labor and human trafficking in a $150 billion industry globally. Unfortunately, the Hampton Roads region isn’t exempt from this activity. The Chesapeake Fire Department has focused on the issue of human trafficking. Their goals, and perhaps the goals that your EMS agency and fire department might set as well, are:
• To be cognizant of the subversive culture of sex and labor slavery and its existence in Hampton Roads
• To be mindful that this culture involves extremely dangerous criminals and horrendously victimized human beings
• To act as an organization in a manner that denies safe harbor for sex and labor criminal systems.

Read more: EMS can impact human trafficking

Upcoming Events

Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Aug 22 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Sep 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Sep 13 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Sep 13 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Board of Directors Meeting
Thu Sep 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 19 @ 9:30AM - 11:30PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS)
Sat Sep 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS)
Sun Sep 09 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
National Registry EMT Course
Wed Sep 12 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com