Saturday, 24 August 2019

Main Navigation

Latest News

Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Smithfield — The halls and church areas of Harvest Fellowship Baptist Church were filled with students and church members, Saturday 4/28/18 as they got ready for an active shooter training drill session.

ASE 2

Yet in a matter of moments, chaos broke out around 13:00 when the Isle of Wight Volunteer Rescue and area responders took part in an extensive active shooter drill.

 The drill simulated a shooter coming onto the premises and opening fire on the church in session, leaving mass destruction in his path.

Read more: Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Injectable Narcotic Shortages

EMS Agencies, Field Personnel, and OMDs within the TEMS Region:

All manufacturers are currently experiencing supply issues related to shortages of injectable narcotic products. Shortages are related to manufacturing delays and product availability. These shortages are predicted to extend into 2019.

These shortages include morphine 10 mg/1 mL 10 mg vials and fentanyl 50 mcg/1 mL 100 mcg vials that are stocked in the Tidewater EMS Red medication boxes.

Read more: Injectable Narcotic Shortages

Education and research fund board seeks members

advisory boardNominations are being accepted for Weber Fund Advisory Board members.The Tidewater EMS Council's Board of Directors established the Kent J. Weber EMS Education and Research Fund in 2015 in honor the leadership and guidance of the council’s first executive director, long time board member and treasurer, Kent Jules Weber. More recently a Weber Fund Advisory Board was established to develop strategic advice and provide direction and support to the Board of Directors in all matters related to the Fund. 

Read more: Education and research fund board seeks members

New field coordinator position serves Western Tidewater

porter smallThe Tidewater EMS Council created a new field coordinator position to support EMS education, performance improvement, mass casualty preparedness and other EMS programs in the counties of Southampton and Isle of Wight, and the city of Franklin.

Harvey “Jay” Porter, the Tidewater EMS Council’s former Education and Performance Improvement Coordinator, began serving as Field Coordinator – Western Tidewater part time beginning January 1, 2018.

Read more: New field coordinator position serves Western Tidewater

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Sep 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Sep 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Sep 12 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Sep 12 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 18 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 18 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Commercial EMS Agencies Committee
Thu Sep 19 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Oct 10 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course
Sun Aug 25 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 28 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 29 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Pre-Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS)
Fri Sep 06 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Test at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Sep 25 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 30 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Oct 31 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Nov 20 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Mon Dec 09 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Tue Dec 10 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com