Saturday, 22 July 2017

Latest News

Rotary honors Portsmouth firefighters

Portsmouth Rotary Awards 1 13 17On Thursday, January 13, 2017 the Rotary Club of Portsmouth held their 16th Annual Portsmouth Public Safety Personnel Awards luncheon. Two of this year’s honorees are Master Firefighter/Paramedic Emil Majetich and Firefighter/Advanced EMT Reginald Bolton. Both were recognized for their outstanding performance of duties and dedication to the citizens of the City of Portsmouth.

Read more: Rotary honors Portsmouth firefighters

Board fills key vacancies

Boardroom chairs

The Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors elected several new directors and filled key vacancies during its quarterly meeting on December 8, 2016. Wayne E. Shank was elected treasurer, W. Travis Kirby and Dennis J. Keane were elected to the board, and Janice E. McKay and Jeffrey J. Meyer were elected to the executive committee.

Read more: Board fills key vacancies

2016 Annual Report Features TEMS Program Accomplishments

The Tidewater EMS Council’s 2016 annual report highlights the accomplishments of the council’s programs during the past year. The report summarizes the work of the Tidewater EMS program, the Hampton Roads Metropolitan Medical Response System, the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition and the Tidewater Center for Life Support Training. The report also includes the council’s leadership and financial statements. pdf Download the report (894 KB) .

Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia

Governor Terry McAuliffe today (11/21/2016) announced that State Health Commissioner Marissa J. Levine, MD, MPH, FAAFP, has declared the Virginia opioid addiction crisis a Public Health Emergency.

This declaration comes in response to the growing number of overdoses attributed to opioid use, and evidence that Carfentanil, a highly dangerous synthetic opioid used to sedate large animals such as elephants, has made its way its way into Virginia. A Public Health Emergency is an event, either natural or manmade, that creates a health risk to the public.

Read more: Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia

Upcoming Events

CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 01 @ 6:00PM -
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Critical Incident Stress Management Team Training
Sat Sep 09 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Sep 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee & RSAF Grading - TEMS
Wed Oct 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 06 @ 6:00PM -
Joint PEMS & TEMS OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Dec 06 @12:00PM - 04:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Dec 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 23 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Fri Aug 25 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Sat Aug 26 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 08/29/2017
Tue Aug 29 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 09/26/2017
Tue Sep 26 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 10/24/2017
Tue Oct 24 @ 6:00PM -
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Thu Oct 26 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
Gold Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com