Saturday, 22 July 2017

Latest News

STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

Heart attackDuring the past several years the Tidewater EMS region and many places across the nation have worked to improve the outcome of patients experiencing ST-elevation myocardial infarction, or STEMI. Hospitals and emergency medical systems are organizing coordinated regional plans for STEMI diagnosis and rapid reperfusion. The work is being done through heart attack coalitions, and in our region the Eastern Virginia Heart Attack Coalition has achieved amazing success.

Read more: STEMI Accelerator Project improves cardiac outcomes – but there’s more to do

EMS can impact human trafficking

Human TraffickingThere are nearly 30 million victims of forced labor and human trafficking in a $150 billion industry globally. Unfortunately, the Hampton Roads region isn’t exempt from this activity. The Chesapeake Fire Department has focused on the issue of human trafficking. Their goals, and perhaps the goals that your EMS agency and fire department might set as well, are:
• To be cognizant of the subversive culture of sex and labor slavery and its existence in Hampton Roads
• To be mindful that this culture involves extremely dangerous criminals and horrendously victimized human beings
• To act as an organization in a manner that denies safe harbor for sex and labor criminal systems.

Read more: EMS can impact human trafficking

Upcoming Events

CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 01 @ 6:00PM -
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Critical Incident Stress Management Team Training
Sat Sep 09 @ 9:00AM - 12:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Sep 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee & RSAF Grading - TEMS
Wed Oct 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 06 @ 6:00PM -
Joint PEMS & TEMS OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Dec 06 @12:00PM - 04:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Dec 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 23 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Fri Aug 25 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Trauma Day with Lectures and Hands on Skills
Sat Aug 26 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 08/29/2017
Tue Aug 29 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 09/26/2017
Tue Sep 26 @ 6:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 10/24/2017
Tue Oct 24 @ 6:00PM -
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Simualtion and Cadaver Lab
Thu Oct 26 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
Gold Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com