Monday, 10 December 2018

Latest News

CHKD Level 1 Trauma Designation Update

The Virginia Department of Health office of EMS completed its final review of CHKD’s trauma services on July 24, 2018. The review team consisted of six surveyors who met with staff, physicians, and leadership of various departments. The team reviewed patient charts, trauma policies, guidelines, and performance improvement processes for trauma services. The surveyors were impressed by the improvements made in our trauma readiness, prompt patient assessment, stabilization of injured patients, and emergency operations. Throughout their visit, all CHKD staff demonstrated their commitment to providing quality trauma care for our pediatric patients and families. 

Read more: CHKD Level 1 Trauma Designation Update

Safety Alert - Epi

SAFETY ALERT- Epinephrine Labeling Changes- Removal of Ratios (no change in the drug product, just labeling)
This is a reminder of a change that was made in June of 2017 but is beginning to be seen in the field now.
Please remind your providers that this change has occurred. 

Read more: Safety Alert - Epi

James “Jim” Chandler

JChandler

it is with deep personal regret that the TEMS Staff inform you that James “Jim” Chandler passed away earlier today. His death was sudden and unexpected, and the TEMS Staff asks that you pray for the Chandler family and his friends. We, the TEMS Staff, ask you to be respectful of the family’s privacy during this difficult time.

Read more: James “Jim” Chandler

Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Smithfield — The halls and church areas of Harvest Fellowship Baptist Church were filled with students and church members, Saturday 4/28/18 as they got ready for an active shooter training drill session.

ASE 2

Yet in a matter of moments, chaos broke out around 13:00 when the Isle of Wight Volunteer Rescue and area responders took part in an extensive active shooter drill.

 The drill simulated a shooter coming onto the premises and opening fire on the church in session, leaving mass destruction in his path.

Read more: Preparing for the unthinkable: Law enforcement, EMS team up for active shooter drill

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Dec 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting - PEMS
Thu Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Dec 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Dec 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Christmas
Mon Dec 24 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas
Tue Dec 25 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Christmas Holiday
Mon Dec 31 @12:00AM
Office Closed - New Year's Day
Tue Jan 01 @12:00AM
Office Closed - King Day
Mon Jan 21 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Dec 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Dec 19 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Dec 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ NFR 12/27/18
Thu Dec 27 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ NFR 01/23/19
Wed Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @ NFR 03/27/2019
Wed Mar 27 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Apr 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Apr 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com