Sunday, 19 August 2018

The Virginia Department of Health office of EMS completed its final review of CHKD’s trauma services on July 24, 2018. The review team consisted of six surveyors who met with staff, physicians, and leadership of various departments. The team reviewed patient charts, trauma policies, guidelines, and performance improvement processes for trauma services. The surveyors were impressed by the improvements made in our trauma readiness, prompt patient assessment, stabilization of injured patients, and emergency operations. Throughout their visit, all CHKD staff demonstrated their commitment to providing quality trauma care for our pediatric patients and families. 

The review team will now finalize their report to send to the commissioner of health for consideration to designate CHKD as a Level 1 pediatric trauma center. This process will take approximately 30-60 days.

Upcoming Events

Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Aug 22 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Sep 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Sep 13 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Sep 13 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Board of Directors Meeting
Thu Sep 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 19 @ 9:30AM - 11:30PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS)
Sat Sep 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Advanced Medical Life Support (AMLS)
Sun Sep 09 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
National Registry EMT Course
Wed Sep 12 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Pre Hospital Trauma Life Support
Sun Sep 30 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com