Thursday, 17 January 2019

EMS Agencies, Field Personnel, and OMDs within the TEMS Region:

All manufacturers are currently experiencing supply issues related to shortages of injectable narcotic products. Shortages are related to manufacturing delays and product availability. These shortages are predicted to extend into 2019.

These shortages include morphine 10 mg/1 mL 10 mg vials and fentanyl 50 mcg/1 mL 100 mcg vials that are stocked in the Tidewater EMS Red medication boxes.

 Due to these shortages and with the approval of the regional medical director, Dr. Stewart Martin, we will be reducing the controlled medication inventory to the following levels as the boxes are exchanged:

  •          1 x morphine 10 mg/1 mL 10mg vial
  •          1 x fentanyl 50 mcg/ 1mL 100 mcg vial

We will NOT be removing these current drugs, but as morphine and/or fentanyl are used/expire we will only restock 1 vial each.   As always, boxes will need to be clearly labeled with anything missing. 

The pharmacy will place a sticker on the red medication box that states “Contains 1 morphine 10mg Vial” and/or “Contains 1 fentanyl 100 mcg Vial.”

This injectable opiate shortage is predicted to last through second quarter 2019. 

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - King Day
Mon Jan 21 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Feb 04 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Feb 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Washington Day
Mon Feb 18 @12:00AM
Medical Directors Meeting
Tue Mar 12 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Mar 14 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Mar 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @ NFR 01/23/19
Wed Jan 23 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course - Duty to Act
Sat Feb 09 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 20 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 21 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sat Feb 23 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sun Feb 24 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ NFR 03/27/2019
Wed Mar 27 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Apr 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Apr 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing @NFR 05/22/2019
Wed May 22 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com