Friday, 20 July 2018

The Healthcare Emergency Amateur Radio Team (HEART) provides back-up emergency communications for healthcare facilities in Eastern Virginia through the use of amateur radios and volunteer radio operators.

The HEART program begins its third year and currently supports 32 healthcare facilities including hospitals, long term care facilities and the TEMS and PEMS council offices.

HEART team photo

Several HEART members following a recent training

The team provides emergency communications from healthcare facility-to-healthcare facility and healthcare facility to the Regional Healthcare Coordination Center and to Emergency Operations Centers.

Team volunteers are dedicated to the mission of HEART and continue to learn new forms of emergency communications using amateur radio. That includes WinLink which is a form of sending digital messages through the amateur radio.

There are other projects in the works and additional members are needed to expand this volunteer group.

The team is sponsored by the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition. If you or someone you know is interested in joining HEART please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

HEART Logo

Upcoming Events

Education and Training Committee
Wed Jul 25 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/28/18
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
National Registry EMT Course
Wed Sep 12 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Virginia Symposium
Wed Nov 07 @12:00AM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com