Thursday, 21 March 2019

Main Navigation

The Healthcare Emergency Amateur Radio Team (HEART) provides back-up emergency communications for healthcare facilities in Eastern Virginia through the use of amateur radios and volunteer radio operators.

The HEART program begins its third year and currently supports 32 healthcare facilities including hospitals, long term care facilities and the TEMS and PEMS council offices.

HEART team photo

Several HEART members following a recent training

The team provides emergency communications from healthcare facility-to-healthcare facility and healthcare facility to the Regional Healthcare Coordination Center and to Emergency Operations Centers.

Team volunteers are dedicated to the mission of HEART and continue to learn new forms of emergency communications using amateur radio. That includes WinLink which is a form of sending digital messages through the amateur radio.

There are other projects in the works and additional members are needed to expand this volunteer group.

The team is sponsored by the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition. If you or someone you know is interested in joining HEART please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

HEART Logo

Upcoming Events

EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Thu Jul 04 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 14 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course - Duty to Act
Sun Mar 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
CANCELLED -Consolidated Testing @ NFR 03/27/2019
Wed Mar 27 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Apr 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Apr 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Full ACLS Course
Sat Apr 27 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Full ACLS Course
Sun Apr 28 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Thu May 02 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Fri May 03 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Sat May 04 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Sun May 05 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com