Wednesday, 17 October 2018

The Healthcare Emergency Amateur Radio Team (HEART) provides back-up emergency communications for healthcare facilities in Eastern Virginia through the use of amateur radios and volunteer radio operators.

The HEART program begins its third year and currently supports 32 healthcare facilities including hospitals, long term care facilities and the TEMS and PEMS council offices.

HEART team photo

Several HEART members following a recent training

The team provides emergency communications from healthcare facility-to-healthcare facility and healthcare facility to the Regional Healthcare Coordination Center and to Emergency Operations Centers.

Team volunteers are dedicated to the mission of HEART and continue to learn new forms of emergency communications using amateur radio. That includes WinLink which is a form of sending digital messages through the amateur radio.

There are other projects in the works and additional members are needed to expand this volunteer group.

The team is sponsored by the Eastern Virginia Healthcare Coalition. If you or someone you know is interested in joining HEART please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

HEART Logo

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 23 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
CISM Team Meeting & Annual Awards
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Nov 08 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Office Closed - Veterans’ Day
Mon Nov 12 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Thu Nov 22 @12:00AM
Office Closed - Thanksgiving Day
Fri Nov 23 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Thu Dec 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Dec 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Oct 23 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Mass Casualty Incident Management - Module I
Sat Oct 27 @ 9:00AM - 02:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course
Sun Oct 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care (TCCC)
Sat Nov 03 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Combat Casualty Care (TCCC)
Sun Nov 04 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Virginia Symposium
Wed Nov 07 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Thu Nov 08 @12:00AM
Virginia Symposium
Fri Nov 09 @12:00AM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com