Thursday, 26 April 2018

Performance ImprovementDuring their meeting on March 9, the Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors approved a new regional EMS performance improvement plan which changes the council’s overall PI committee structure and sets new PI goals. The new  plan, recommended by PI stakeholders in the region, elevates the committee so that it reports directly to the Board of Directors.

The plan includes trauma, stroke and STEMI PI subcommittees and creates a new patient and provider safety PI subcommittee, all of which will coordinate with the main EMS PI committee.

The primary objectives of the new EMS PI plan are to:
1. Collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends.
2. Make evidence based practices recommendations to drive changes in the region.
3. Provide performance data to the stakeholders within the Tidewater Region.

The main committee and the subcommittees will design and implement PI projects that are practical; will collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends in patient care; will establish regional clinical benchmarks to measure the TEMS regional system effectiveness; and, will share best practices among agencies.

Lateral communication between EMS PI and other council committees, such as the Operational Medical Directors and EMS Medical Operations Committee, and workgroups such as protocols and EMS education, is encouraged in the plan.

The council’s performance improvement committees are responsible for assuring and improving the quality of pre-hospital care within the EMS system served by the Tidewater EMS Council.

Performance Improvement is measuring the output of a particular business process or procedure, then modifying the process or procedure to increase the output, increase efficiency, improve safety or increase the effectiveness of the process or procedure.

PI meeting dates are published on the TEMS meeting calendar. If you are interested in becoming involved with the region’s performance improvement efforts, contact EMS PI chair This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or TEMS staff member Jay Porter.

Upcoming Events

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue May 01 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Jun 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
2018 Regional Awards Presentation - Register below
Thu Jun 14 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 20 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue May 01 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
ACLS Update
Fri May 04 @ 9:30AM - 04:00PM
Geriatric Education for the EMS Provider (GEMS)
Sat May 05 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
PALS UPDATE
Mon May 07 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
ACLS Update
Tue May 08 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Basic Life Support
Wed May 09 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 05/12/2018
Sat May 12 @ 9:00AM -
Basic Life Support
Tue May 15 @ 9:30AM - 01:30PM
ACLS Provider Course (2 Day)
Wed May 16 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
ACLS Provider Course (2 Day)
Thu May 17 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com