Monday, 22 January 2018

Performance ImprovementDuring their meeting on March 9, the Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors approved a new regional EMS performance improvement plan which changes the council’s overall PI committee structure and sets new PI goals. The new  plan, recommended by PI stakeholders in the region, elevates the committee so that it reports directly to the Board of Directors.

The plan includes trauma, stroke and STEMI PI subcommittees and creates a new patient and provider safety PI subcommittee, all of which will coordinate with the main EMS PI committee.

The primary objectives of the new EMS PI plan are to:
1. Collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends.
2. Make evidence based practices recommendations to drive changes in the region.
3. Provide performance data to the stakeholders within the Tidewater Region.

The main committee and the subcommittees will design and implement PI projects that are practical; will collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends in patient care; will establish regional clinical benchmarks to measure the TEMS regional system effectiveness; and, will share best practices among agencies.

Lateral communication between EMS PI and other council committees, such as the Operational Medical Directors and EMS Medical Operations Committee, and workgroups such as protocols and EMS education, is encouraged in the plan.

The council’s performance improvement committees are responsible for assuring and improving the quality of pre-hospital care within the EMS system served by the Tidewater EMS Council.

Performance Improvement is measuring the output of a particular business process or procedure, then modifying the process or procedure to increase the output, increase efficiency, improve safety or increase the effectiveness of the process or procedure.

PI meeting dates are published on the TEMS meeting calendar. If you are interested in becoming involved with the region’s performance improvement efforts, contact EMS PI chair This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or TEMS staff member Jay Porter.

Upcoming Events

CISM Team Meeting
Tue Feb 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Feb 14 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Washington - Lincoln Day Office closed in observance of the holiday
Mon Feb 19 @12:00AM
Audit and Finance Committee - TEMS
Thu Feb 22 @10:00AM - 11:30AM
OMD Committee Meeting -
Tue Mar 06 @ 3:00PM - 05:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Mar 21 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 11 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Jun 06 @ 3:00PM - 05:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 13 @12:00PM - 02:00PM

Upcoming Classes

PALS Update
Tue Jan 23 @ 9:30AM - 05:00PM
PFRES CEU Class Day 1
Mon Jan 29 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
ACLS UPDATE
Mon Jan 29 @ 9:30AM - 04:00PM
PFRES CEU Day 2
Tue Jan 30 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Basic Life Support
Tue Jan 30 @ 9:00AM - 01:00PM
PFRES CEU Day 3
Wed Jan 31 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
PFRES Day 4
Thu Feb 01 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
PFRES CEU Day 5
Fri Feb 02 @ 9:00AM - 04:00PM
Basic Life Support
Mon Feb 05 @ 9:30AM - 01:30PM
PALS
Tue Feb 06 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
Platinum Partner
Gold Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com