Saturday, 23 June 2018

Performance ImprovementDuring their meeting on March 9, the Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors approved a new regional EMS performance improvement plan which changes the council’s overall PI committee structure and sets new PI goals. The new  plan, recommended by PI stakeholders in the region, elevates the committee so that it reports directly to the Board of Directors.

The plan includes trauma, stroke and STEMI PI subcommittees and creates a new patient and provider safety PI subcommittee, all of which will coordinate with the main EMS PI committee.

The primary objectives of the new EMS PI plan are to:
1. Collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends.
2. Make evidence based practices recommendations to drive changes in the region.
3. Provide performance data to the stakeholders within the Tidewater Region.

The main committee and the subcommittees will design and implement PI projects that are practical; will collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends in patient care; will establish regional clinical benchmarks to measure the TEMS regional system effectiveness; and, will share best practices among agencies.

Lateral communication between EMS PI and other council committees, such as the Operational Medical Directors and EMS Medical Operations Committee, and workgroups such as protocols and EMS education, is encouraged in the plan.

The council’s performance improvement committees are responsible for assuring and improving the quality of pre-hospital care within the EMS system served by the Tidewater EMS Council.

Performance Improvement is measuring the output of a particular business process or procedure, then modifying the process or procedure to increase the output, increase efficiency, improve safety or increase the effectiveness of the process or procedure.

PI meeting dates are published on the TEMS meeting calendar. If you are interested in becoming involved with the region’s performance improvement efforts, contact EMS PI chair This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or TEMS staff member Jay Porter.

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Independence Day
Wed Jul 04 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Tue Aug 07 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 03 @12:00AM
OMD Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 05 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Columbus Day
Mon Oct 08 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Nov 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM

Upcoming Classes

How to treat an exposed Radiated Patient
Wed Jun 27 @11:30AM - 02:00PM
EMT Instructor Network Meeting
Thu Jun 28 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
8 Hour Tactical EMS for First Responders
Sun Jul 08 @ 8:00AM - 04:00PM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 07/28/18
Sat Jul 28 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 22 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Cardiac Grand Rounds
Tue Sep 11 @ 7:00AM - 08:00AM
Consolidated Testing @ EVMS 09/29/2018
Sat Sep 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Oct 23 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Platinum Partner
www.nationalcprassociation.com