Sunday, 25 August 2019

Main Navigation

Performance ImprovementDuring their meeting on March 9, the Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors approved a new regional EMS performance improvement plan which changes the council’s overall PI committee structure and sets new PI goals. The new  plan, recommended by PI stakeholders in the region, elevates the committee so that it reports directly to the Board of Directors.

The plan includes trauma, stroke and STEMI PI subcommittees and creates a new patient and provider safety PI subcommittee, all of which will coordinate with the main EMS PI committee.

The primary objectives of the new EMS PI plan are to:
1. Collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends.
2. Make evidence based practices recommendations to drive changes in the region.
3. Provide performance data to the stakeholders within the Tidewater Region.

The main committee and the subcommittees will design and implement PI projects that are practical; will collect patient care statistics to evaluate system effectiveness and identify trends in patient care; will establish regional clinical benchmarks to measure the TEMS regional system effectiveness; and, will share best practices among agencies.

Lateral communication between EMS PI and other council committees, such as the Operational Medical Directors and EMS Medical Operations Committee, and workgroups such as protocols and EMS education, is encouraged in the plan.

The council’s performance improvement committees are responsible for assuring and improving the quality of pre-hospital care within the EMS system served by the Tidewater EMS Council.

Performance Improvement is measuring the output of a particular business process or procedure, then modifying the process or procedure to increase the output, increase efficiency, improve safety or increase the effectiveness of the process or procedure.

PI meeting dates are published on the TEMS meeting calendar. If you are interested in becoming involved with the region’s performance improvement efforts, contact EMS PI chair This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or TEMS staff member Jay Porter.

Upcoming Events

Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Sep 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
OMD Committee Meeting
Tue Sep 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Patient & Provider Safety PI Meeting
Thu Sep 12 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Trauma/Triage PI Meeting
Thu Sep 12 @ 2:30PM - 03:30PM
Education and Training Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 18 @ 9:30AM - 11:30AM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 18 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Commercial EMS Agencies Committee
Thu Sep 19 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Oct 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
STEMI PI Meeting
Thu Oct 10 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM

Upcoming Classes

NIMS ICS 400
Wed Aug 28 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Thu Aug 29 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Pre-Hospital Trauma Life Support (PHTLS)
Fri Sep 06 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Consolidated Test at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Sep 25 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Oct 30 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Oct 31 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Nov 20 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Mon Dec 09 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS 400
Tue Dec 10 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Jan 22 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com