Thursday, 21 March 2019

Main Navigation

The Tidewater Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. recognized the tremendous level of service demonstrated by EMS personnel at the council’s regional EMS awards ceremony held June 28 during “Family Day at the Ballpark” at Harbor Park stadium in Norfolk.

“So many of our regional EMS responders deserve to be honored for their remarkable work, so it’s hard to choose just a few,” said Jim Chandler, executive director of the Tidewater EMS Council. “However, this year’s winners represented the strength of EMS providers who have had a positive influence in the community and in the Tidewater region. The winner of our top award, Excellence in EMS, was even responsible for making an impact in emergency services on an international level!”

Recipients of this year’s regional awards will have the chance to compete for the prestigious 2015 Governor’s EMS Awards, which will be announced at the Virginia EMS Symposium’s Annual Awards Ceremony, November 14 in Norfolk. Winners will be presented with a trophy and a certificate signed by the Governor.                                                                                           

“We recognize all Virginia EMS providers who consistently demonstrate their commitment to saving lives and protecting the citizens of the Commonwealth. Their willingness to put their own lives on the line for the well-being of the community is honorable and appreciated,” said Gary Brown, director of the Virginia Office of EMS.

The 2015 Tidewater EMS Council Regional Award Recipients:

Excellence in EMS (R.C. Dailey Award) – W. Lawrence Daniels, Nansemond Suffolk Volunteer Rescue Squad

Outstanding EMS Administrator (Bruce W. Edwards Award) – Ernest “Bryan” Rush, Town of Chincoteague EMS

Outstanding Contribution to EMS Health and Safety – Gillian Gallego, Chesapeake Fire Department

Outstanding Prehospital Provider – Nickolas C. Askew, Chesapeake Fire Department/Ocean Park Volunteer Rescue Squad

Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Physician (Frank M. Yeiser Award) – Joel C. Michael, MD, Emergency Physicians of Tidewater  

Outstanding Contribution to EMS by a Nurse – Susan Henry, RN, Riverside Shore Memorial Hospital

Outstanding Prehospital Educator (James M. Wagenbach Award) – Brian McIntosh, Chesapeake Fire Department

Outstanding EMS Telecommunications Officer – William Drewery, Isle of Wight County Emergency Dispatcher

2015 TEMS Award Winners

YouTube video with highlights of the TEMS 2015 Family Picnic and Awards Presentation

Past Tidewater EMS Award Winners

Upcoming Events

EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon May 06 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
Office Closed - Memorial Day
Mon May 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Board Of Directors Meeting
Thu Jun 13 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 19 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
Office Closed - Independence Day
Thu Jul 04 @12:00AM
CISM Team Meeting
Mon Aug 05 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Aug 14 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 02 @12:00AM

Upcoming Classes

Tactical Emergency Casualty Care Course - Duty to Act
Sun Mar 24 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
CANCELLED -Consolidated Testing @ NFR 03/27/2019
Wed Mar 27 @ 6:00PM - 09:00PM
Wed Apr 24 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Thu Apr 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Full ACLS Course
Sat Apr 27 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Full ACLS Course
Sun Apr 28 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Thu May 02 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Fri May 03 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Sat May 04 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Registration - 2019 Tidewater EMS / Nursing Expo
Sun May 05 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner