Tuesday, 28 January 2020

Main Navigation

What You need to know about Ebola
We have added a dedicated infectious diseases information section to our website. The section includes a direct link to the CDC Health Alert Network as well as links to official Ebola, enterovirus and pandemic flu information. See the "Infectious Diseases" link on our menu to the left.  EMS Providers are reminded to be sure to ask patients with fever about recent travel.
With a fever of greater than 38 degrees Celsius / 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or subjective fever and additional symptoms such as severe headache, muscle pain, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain, or unexplained hemorrhage ask about travel to West Africa (Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone or other countries where EVD transmission has been reported by WHO) within 21 days (3 weeks) of symptom onset. If such travel, or contact with those who have traveled to those area, is reported, along with the signs and symptoms, isolate the patient, initiate standard infectious disease precautions, including contact and droplet precautions, and alert the hospital.
 
The Ebola information includes a checklist for EMS intended to enhance collective preparedness and response by highlighting key areas for EMS personnel to review in preparation for encountering and providing medical care to a person with Ebola. The checklist provides practical and specific suggestions to ensure the agency is able to help its personnel detect possible Ebola cases, protect those personnel, and respond appropriately.

Upcoming Events

Spring RSAF Grant Cycle Opens
Sat Feb 01 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Feb 12 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Mar 18 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Apr 08 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Jun 10 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Jun 17 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM

Upcoming Classes

Slap the Cap! The Comprehensive Capnography Course
Wed Feb 05 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sat Feb 08 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Tactical Emergency Casualty Care (TECC)
Sun Feb 09 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
PHTLS Course
Sat Feb 15 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
PHTLS Course
Sun Feb 16 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Tue Feb 25 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Wed Feb 26 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
NIMS ICS-300 TRAINING: WHO MUST TAKE IT, WHAT IT COVERS
Thu Feb 27 @ 8:30AM - 05:30PM
Consolidated Testing at Norfolk Fire-Rescue Training Center
Wed Mar 18 @ 6:00PM - 10:00PM
NIMS ICS 400
Wed Apr 29 @ 9:00AM - 05:00PM

Platinum Partner

Platinum Partner

Gold Partner

Silver Partner
Silver Partner
nationalcprassociation
www.nationalcprassociation.com