Thursday, 3 September 2015

Latest News

CHKD Pediatric Trauma Conference

CHKD Pediatric Trauma Conference Flyer

 

Save the date for the first Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters Pediatric Trauma Conference to be held at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott Hotel located on Friday, March 11 - Saturday, March 12, 2016.

Registration and continuing education (CEU)  information will be posted as it becomes available.

Meanwhile - mark your calendars!

 

Fall 2015 RSAF Grants Program Opens

The Financial Assistance for Emergency Medical Services Grants Program, known as the Grants

Rescue Squad Assistance Fund (RSAF) Grant Program is a multi-million dollar grant program for Virginia non-profit EMS agencies and organizations. Fall 2015 grant cycle opens August 1, 2015.

Again this cycle, TEMS Council has opted to offer individual assistance to applicants rather than to schedule a workshop.  Feel free to contact the Council at 757-963-0632 or by e-mail at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  

Read more: Fall 2015 RSAF Grants Program Opens

TEMS Announces 2015 Regional Award Winners

The Tidewater Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council, Inc. recognized the tremendous level of service demonstrated by EMS personnel at the council’s regional EMS awards ceremony held June 28 during “Family Day at the Ballpark” at Harbor Park stadium in Norfolk. “So many of our regional EMS responders deserve to be honored for their remarkable work, so it’s hard to choose just a few,” said Jim Chandler, executive director of the Tidewater EMS Council. “However, this year’s winners represented the strength of EMS providers who have had a positive influence in the community and in the Tidewater region. The winner of our top award, Excellence in EMS, was even responsible for making an impact in emergency services on an international level!”

Read more: TEMS Announces 2015 Regional Award Winners

TEMS Has Surplus Furniture, Training Equipment and Electronics for Sale

The Tidewater EMS Council periodically identifies surplus items and makes them available at extremely discounted prices for sale first to the EMS and healthcare community, then to the public. We currently have used furniture, computer and electronics, training equipment and other items available. All items are available first come (and pay), first serve. All items as is, no warranty and no return. Contact Tonya Cook This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 757 963-0632 for inspection and purchase.
Surplus 10x20 tents    
 

Read more: TEMS Has Surplus Furniture, Training Equipment and Electronics for Sale

TEMS Board Conducts Elections

On March 19, 2015 the Tidewater EMS Council Board of Directors held board, officer and executive committee elections for a two year term. Stewart W. Martin, MD of Virginia Beach was reelected president of the board. Dr. Martin is an attending physician with Emergency Physicians of Tidewater and medical director for the Virginia Beach Department of Emergency Medical Services and all of the volunteer rescue squads in Virginia Beach. He is board certified in emergency medicine and hyperbaric and undersea medicine.

Read more: TEMS Board Conducts Elections

Upcoming Events

TEMS Office Closed - Labor Day
Mon Sep 07 @ 8:00AM -
Board of Directors - TEMS
Thu Sep 10 @ 6:00PM - 08:00PM
TEMS Quarterly Drug/IV Box Inventory
Wed Sep 16 @ 4:30PM - 04:31PM
PEMS-TEMS MCI Work Group Meeting - via conference call
Tue Sep 22 @ 1:30PM - 03:30PM
PI Committee Meetings STEMI / Stroke / EMS / Trauma
Thu Oct 08 @12:30AM - 03:30PM
Eastern Shore EMS Council and Grant Review - Location TBA
Tue Oct 13 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
EMS Medical Operations Committee and Grant Review - TEMS
Wed Oct 14 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
PEMS-TEMS MCI Work Group Meeting
Tue Oct 27 @ 1:30PM - 03:30PM
CISM Team - TEMS Office
Mon Nov 02 @ 5:30PM - 07:30PM
Veteran's Day - TEMS closed
Wed Nov 11 @ 8:00AM -
PEMS-TEMS MCI Work Group Meeting
Tue Nov 24 @ 1:30PM - 03:30PM
Thanksgiving Holiday - TEMS closed
Thu Nov 26 @12:00AM
Thanksgiving Holiday- TEMS closed
Fri Nov 27 @12:00AM
EMS Medical Operations Committee - TEMS
Wed Dec 09 @12:00PM - 02:00PM
PI Committee Meetings STEMI / Stroke / EMS / Trauma
Thu Dec 10 @12:30AM - 03:30PM

Upcoming Classes

CPR AED FIRST AID
Thu Sep 03 @ 4:00PM -
CPR FOR THE HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
Sat Sep 05 @ 9:00AM -
Heroes' Challenge Full Scale Exercise - Busch Gardens Williamsburg
Wed Sep 09 @10:00AM - 08:00PM
CPR FOR THE HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
Sat Sep 12 @ 9:00AM -
CPR AED FIRST AID
Sat Sep 12 @ 9:00AM -
CPR FOR THE HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
Wed Sep 16 @ 5:30PM -
CPR AED FIRST AID
Fri Sep 18 @12:00PM -
CPR FOR THE HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
Sat Sep 19 @ 9:00AM -
CPR AED FIRST AID
Mon Sep 21 @ 9:00AM -
CPR FOR THE HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
Wed Sep 23 @12:00PM -
Consolidated Testing @EVMS 09/26/15
Sat Sep 26 @ 9:00AM - 10:00AM
CPR FOR THE HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
Sat Sep 26 @ 9:00AM -
CPR AED FIRST AID
Sat Sep 26 @ 9:00AM -
CPR FOR THE HEALTHCARE PROVIDER
Wed Sep 30 @ 9:00AM -
ICS 300 - Melfa
Fri Oct 16 @12:00AM
Platinum Partners